The Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences was established in 1978 and began classroom instructions in 1978/1979.

When the Faculty first started, it had only two departments: The Department of Business Administration and the Department of Accounting. However, to meet the changing needs of the Palestinian society and to contribute to the economic and social development process, four new departments were introduced that all lead to Bachelor Degrees and offer four Graduate Programmes.